New Vocal Scholar named at AGM

New Vocal Scholar named at AGM

The new Maroondah Singers Vocal Scholar for 2020 was revealed at the choir’s Annual General Meeting on February 24.

Musical Director Lyn Henshall introduced baritone Stephen Coutts and presented him with his certificate. Stephen had previously performed as one of three guest artists under the vocal scholarship program in 2014.

Lyn outlined some of Stephen’s experience, including as a teacher in four schools and as a performer with several opera-related organisations while especially noting his qualifications in speech and drama.

He then sang Auf der Donau by Franz Schubert and Some Enchanted Evening from the musical South Pacific.

Another highlight was the presentation of life memberships to Nick Hansen and Jean Skelly by president Merrilyn Velcek. Both recipients have contributed greatly to the choir in areas such as publicity and social activities.

Later Merrilyn was reappointed as president, along with Lars Fermvall as vice-president, Dorothy Wright as treasurer and Peter Naughtin as secretary. Nick Hansen, Robyn Cox, Ross Clark and Philippa Bailey remain as committee members while Kim Glasgow has joined for the first time.

Ally Openshaw has stepped down from the committee and was recognised for her contribution to the choir, including one year as president.